Print preview Close

Showing 1 results

Archival description
Only top-level descriptions Calgary Diocesan Synod
Print preview View:

Calgary Diocesan Synod

  • Subfonds
  • 1990-1994

Sous-fonds consists of papers of the Calgary Diocesan Synod. Bishop Paul J. O’Byrne approached his advisors with the idea of holding a synod in 1988, hoping to find a way to reinvigorate the Diocese. Sr. Maria Nakagawa was appointed coordinator in July 1990. In the fall a coordinating committee with representatives from the Social Affairs and Religious Education boards, youth, religious and each deanery was struck. The first Diocesan Synod was formally convoked on December 11, 1990. The theme was ‘Our Place in God’s Family’. A synod coordinator was selected for every parish and a preliminary survey identified issues and concerns. Small dialogue groups led by trained facilitators provided input with over 3,000 parishioners participating. Based on feedback seven commissions were established to report and make recommendations. The seven commissions and their leaders were as follows: God’s Family (Br. Jean-Louis Brusset, OFM and Diane Andrea)
Domestic Family (Kathleen Kufeldt and Dan Doherty)
Parish Family (Michael Waterhouse and Gail Weyers)
Diocesan Family (Lynn L’Heureux and Tom Stalinski)
Universal Church Family (Fr. Jack Bastigal and Sharon Campbell)
Catholic Education (Ralph Himsl and Janina Diodati)
Youth/Young Adults (Jennifer Gerritsen and Jan Ramsay)
In November 1993 draft reports from these commissions were circulated and parishioners were surveyed for their reactions. 925 completed surveys were received. A series of resolutions were produced. Delegates were selected in January 1994 and pre-Synod workshops held in each deanery in the spring. The formal synod took place at St. Francis High School in Calgary from April 6-9 1994, attended by 132 voting delegates. 112 of 113 recommendations were passed and these were officially promulgated in October 1994.

Calgary Diocesan Synod