Diocesan Liturgical Commission (DLC)

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Diocesan Liturgical Commission (DLC)

Parallel form(s) of name

    Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

      Other form(s) of name

      • Diocesan Liturgy Commission

      Identifiers for corporate bodies

      Description area

      Dates of existence



      The Liturgical Commission Office was opened by Bishop Francis J. Klein in 1967. It became of special importance in its responsibility for implementing the new liturgical forms, rubrics, and music following the changes made by the Second Vatican Council. A decree was issued recommending the establishment of a Liturgical Commission, Sacred Music Commission and a Sacred Art Commission. Bishop Carroll had arranged for the formation of a liturgical commission which would also deal with sacred music. He felt that sacred art would fall within the scope of the Building Commission.

      The first DLC minutes we have are dated Sept 25th, 1968.

      The Diocesan Council of Liturgy worked with the Commission, its members were appointed, with Fr. Toole being the representative on the Commission. The first minutes of the Diocesan Council of Liturgy are dated Dec 11, 1967 but refer to a meeting on Nov 6. The first chair was Mr. Larry Hope. Other council members were Frs. Toole, Beeching, and Sr. St. Edwin.

      Its purpose is to provide, under the aegis of the bishop, leadership and practical programmes for implementing liturgical renewal. Its scope covers everything related to liturgy – The Eucharistic sacrifice, design of altars and sanctuaries, sacred music, choirs, training lectors, auxiliary ministers etc. It fosters studies for deepening the understanding by clergy and laity of their roles in liturgy and active participation in it. It encourages the formation of liturgical committees in parishes. In 1977 its membership comprised: Fr. Dennis McDonald (chair), Carmel McConachie (secretary), Fr. Joseph Rigby, Greg McLellan, Greg Coupal, Keith Sorge, Sr. Dorothy Levandosky, and Brian Simpson.


      Legal status

      Functions, occupations and activities

      Mandates/sources of authority

      Internal structures/genealogy

      General context

      Relationships area

      Access points area

      Subject access points

      Place access points


      Control area

      Authority record identifier

      CA RCDCA AR D5

      Institution identifier

      Rules and/or conventions used


      Level of detail

      Dates of creation, revision and deletion

      Created Jun 23, 2021




          Maintenance notes